Skip to content

“True friendship is like sound health; the value of it is seldom known until it be lost.” – Charles Caleb Colton

September 28, 2009

P1020186One of my New Year’s Resolutions this year was to expand my social circle. I know how superficial that sounds, but allow me to explain…

About a year ago (70lbs ago), I was a homebody couch potato. I hid behind the doors of my home, playing video games and watching movies. I’d hang out with friends here and there, but I’d always cut visits short. I rarely tried anything new. Frankly, I was bored… but too lazy to do anything about it.

Once I started taking control of my health, everything else started shifting with it and when I got around my friends I realized just how much I missed having relationship connections. I decided I wanted to make new friends and really invest in the friendships I already had. Relationships are a big part of living well, in my opinion. Life is just too short and too awesome to be kept to oneself!

My friends make my life so much richer and because of them, this past week was a whirlwind of awesomeness. A few highlights…

Thursday, I met three of my friends for a Girl’s Night Out. Aloft hotel was celebrating the first birthday of their location in metro-Nashville. We were met in the lobby by balloons, confetti, a dj, wine and beer tastings, gumbo, quesadillas (and other hors d’oeuvres), cupcakes and a photo booth.

I love photo booths. Someday, when I have thousands of dollars to throw around, I will buy a photo booth and put it in my foyer at home. Any and all visitors will be required to participate. I haven’t yet decided to do with all those pictures I will accumulate. We’ll cross that bridge when I become a millionaire. ๐Ÿ˜‰

On Saturday, I met up with two great friends who are what you might call locavores. Due to the great case they make for buying locally, I’m trying to make a few changes in my lifestyle that reflect that. Saturday morning, I woke up early and arrived downtown by 9am. I met them at a small neighborhood church in a part of Nashville I’d never seen. When I drove around the building, there was a small tent set up with baskets of fresh potatoes, garlic, arugula, peppers and basil.

Bugtussle Farms is an organic and biodynamic community about 2 hours northeast of Nashville. Each weekend, the farmers (who can’t be much older than me) drive into the city and their CSA shareholders meet them at this location to pickup their fresh veggies and herbs. I decided to take a chance and purchase a small share of their Fall CSA. I’m hoping this will expose me to new vegetables and jump-start some cooking creativity!

Sunday, was the HOT PINK! event I’d been working on for the past month and I could not have asked for a better turnout. Between the silent auction, the live auction and the ticket sales, we raised a little over $5000 for the Nashville affiliate of Susan G. Komen. From the auction items donated to the 300 bras Goodwill let us borrow for decor, it was pretty awesome to see the entire community come together for such a great cause. Even the employees of the location that’s typically not open on Sundays all volunteered their time to come in and work for the benefit. Too cool! (Speaking of cool, I even got shot by the paparazzi!)

As for this week? Well, I was having dinner with a friend earlier (a Subway Veggie Delite sub, of course) and mentioned that after my meeting this afternoon, my calendar was free and clear… and I am hoping it stays that way!! Don’t get me wrong, I love a busy lifestyle, but a breather every once in awhile is definitely a good thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have an awesome week!

sig

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Flynn permalink
    September 29, 2009 10:52 am

    Awesome post!! And such a great weekend!

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 29, 2009 11:07 pm

      It really was! Can’t wait for your visit next week!!

  2. Fran permalink
    September 29, 2009 3:13 pm

    Life without friends is a boring life I believe.

    I need time for myself to do the things I like but I also like to do things with my friends or my hub. It makes life fun!

    I like reading about your life, you are socially more busy than I am and you can tell with so enthousiastic about it: keep doing that, you always put a smile on my face.

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 29, 2009 11:09 pm

      I agree 100%!

      Hehe, I’m glad I can put a smile on your face! I’m lucky to have such awesome friends in the blog-o-sphere. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. October 1, 2009 12:01 am

    You are so great and I love that you are living it up and enjoying friendships!
    XO

    • Amanda permalink*
      October 1, 2009 11:57 am

      YOU are so great! Keep on keepin’ on, girlfriend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. October 1, 2009 5:26 am

    Your posts are all very uplifting, not at all boring. I think everyone needs a friend like you in their life!!!!

  5. Dr. Jo permalink
    October 1, 2009 5:41 pm

    Amanda, I agree with Mark…you are an inspiration and your posts are so thought provoking. Thanks!!

Trackbacks

  1. CSA harvest: week one « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

