Skip to content

Kentucky rivers run wild

October 6, 2009

Adopt the pace of nature:ย  her secret is patience. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Living in Nashville, I so often get wrapped up in the hustle and bustle of the city. Not that Nashville is a huge metropolis, but there really is always something happening and I love staying involved in the goings-on of my community. I’m quickly finding that sometimes we can become too connected, though.

I met with a client of mine last week and made a (half-way joking) comment that my iPhone had become like an extension of my body. Every time it beeps, I instinctively reach for it to check my email. When I realized this, I felt a little sick. Have I become a slave to technology? Ugh. Every once in awhile, I think it’s really a good practice in living well to put on the brakes and detach yourself.

On Friday, I drove an hour and a half north and met a few friends in Bowling Green, KY. From there, we drove to a small town called Corbin, KY. Corbin is home to a 60-foot waterfall named Cumberland Falls and a natural phenomenon called a “Moonbow.” Few places in the world frequently feature moonbows. Cumberland Falls is one; the other is in South Africa.

We just so happened to be camping over a “Moonbow Weekend.” This being the first time I’d even heard of a moonbow, I learned that a lot of things have to be in sync for one to appear. There has to be a full moon hitting just the right spot, little to no fog, and the mist from the Falls have to reach a certain height. On Friday night around 10:00pm, we headed to the Cumberland Falls overlook and sure enough. We saw it.

It was faint at first, but the longer we stood there, the more it stood out. We tried to capture it on film, but our photographic attempts hardly do it justice.

The rest of the weekend was an absolute blast! Though, I’ll be the first to admit, I didn’t eat as great as I should’ve. I brought 100-calorie snack packs… I had good intentions! Friday, we cooked hamburgers and hot dogs on the grill and Saturday, we cooked BBQ chicken breasts, beans and potatoes. Oh, and somewhere in between were s’mores. Lots of them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Saturday, we also had reservations for a canoe trip down the Big South Fork River. I went in thinking this was going to be a leisurely canoe trip, so you can imagine my surprise when we had to cross Class 1-2 rapids!

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE white-water rafting. I’ve been three times (twice down the Nantahala and once down the Ocoee) and would go again in a heartbeat… but never have I encountered rapids in anything less than in the security of an 8-man raft. Rapids in a rickety canoe is… a little challenging to say the least.

After about 4 hours on the river (ALL of us soaked from our canoes flipping over at one point or another), we had never been happier to see land. I think my friend Natalie said it best when she called it “retroactively awesome.” Having made it through alive, I have to say I agree.

Go breathe in some fresh air and enjoy your surroundings… Fall is HERE!

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 1:35 pm

    What a beautiful place to visit! Looks like you had a wonderful time and that is what matters. To heck with the 100 calorie packs ๐Ÿ˜‰
    You are right we all need to take a break from all of the technology and get back to nature. It is so good for you!

  2. Fran permalink
    October 7, 2009 2:45 pm

    Wauw it’s really beautiful up there! You always have such great weekends.

    I’m addicted to the internet ๐Ÿ™‚ although it’s less than it used to be. I never answer my phone or look at my sms when I get one when I’m talking to someone. I think especially phones interrupt too much in our social life. Almost everybody immediately answers their phone even though they are talking to you. I personally think that’s not polite.

Leave a Reply

