Skip to content

CSA harvest: week one

October 11, 2009

Yesterday was Week 1 of my CSA share for the Fall season. I was so excited!

photoI brought a large tote and loaded up with 1lb of potatoes, a butternut squash, a bunch of kale, 2 turnips (with edible greens), 1 beet (with edible greens), 2 mini-eggplants, a bunch of baby carrots, an onion, a bulb of garlic, a daikon radish (with edible greens), 1 sweet pepper and 5 mixed hot peppers (I even got brave and picked out a habenero!).

What a crop! Thank you, Bugtussle!

After I got home, I washed and stored everything in the fridge. Much like I imagine an explorer embarking on new territory would, I stepped back looking at my 1/4 bushel and said “now what?”

I scoured the internet for recipes. Of course, the first thing that popped in my mind were soups. I love a good hearty soup, especially in the colder seasons. I can’t wait to break out my crock pot and start experimenting on some, but I’ll be the first to admit that soups can get old pretty quickly.  I need some variety.

Here are a few recipes I’ve run across so far that I’d like to try (NOTE: I haven’t tried, nor can I vouch for any of these yet, but I’m more compiling them in one place as a reminder to myself):

Eggplant Burgers

  • 1 eggplant
  • dash of garlic salt
  • 2 Tablespoons flour
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 Tablespoon parsley

Cut eggplant into cubes and steam over boiling water until tender. Let drain. Put in a mixing bowl, add eggs and seasonings (add wheat germ if desired) let sit 1/2 hr. Sprinkle hands with flour and shape mixture into burgers. Pan fry and serve very hot. If desired serve with tomato sauce.

Roasted Pumpkin & Kale Soup with Garlic

  • 4 cups peeled and chunked pumpkin or hard squash (I was thinking of subbing in my butternut squash!)
  • 2 cups peeled and chunked red potato
  • 3 tbsp oil
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh rosemary
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme
  • 1 tbsp fresh sage
  • 2 medium onions, coarsely chopped
  • 2 large carrots, coarsely chopped
  • 2 red or yellow bell peppers, coarsely chopped
  • 3-4 cups vegetable stock or water (I’ll probably sub chicken stock since it’s what I have on hand)
  • 3 cups chopped kale
  • salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Chop vegetables. Place pumpkin (or squash) and potato in a large roasting pan and toss with oil, garlic and herbs. Roast for about 30 minutes, uncovered. Add remained veggies, except kale. Roast for another 20-30 minutes or until veggies are well-browned but not charred. Remove pan from oven. Place roasted veggies and stock in a large stock pot. Season to taste. Heat over medium-high heat until pumpkin (or squash) begins to soften and combine slightly with stock. Add chopped kale and cook over medium heat until done, about 10 minutes.

On another note, I’d heard of eating turnip greens, but had no idea how to cook or eat the edible greens of beets or radishes. After a quick search on ehow.com, apparently you can cut the leaves off the stems and add them in with salads, soups or stir-fry dishes. I think I might try them mixed in with chicken stir-fry. It sounds as easy as sauteing them until they become wilted.

Another thing I’d like to try with all my fresh peppers is some homemade salsa! Does anyone have any salsa recipes they love?

If you need me, I’ll be in the kitchen!

sig

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    October 11, 2009 12:03 pm

    When’s the soup ready?

    Looks great Amanda!

    • Amanda permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:58 pm

      Just made it tonight… delish!!

  2. Dr. Jo permalink
    October 12, 2009 1:13 pm

    Amanda,

    Thought I would share an old family receipe passed down from many generations ago. Enjoy!

    Aunt Tania’s Salsa

    2 cans of shoepeg corn
    1 or 2 cans of black beans (rinsed and drained) quantity depends on your liking
    1 can of ROTEL original tomato (mild)
    1 large can of petite diced tomatoes
    A bunch of fresh chopped cilantro
    1 medium red onion – chopped
    1 regular size bottle of Italian dressing

    Optional: chopped green onion

    Pour and mix everything together…serve with chips and enjoy!

    • Amanda permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:58 pm

      You are funny! 😛

      Although, I can vouch for the “salsa” …it is pretty good!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipe: Breaded Chicken Parmesan « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

