Skip to content

Oktoberfest

October 15, 2009

IMG_1242Despite all the running I haven’t been doing lately, I still managed to get up really early Saturday morning, don my tennis shoes and cross the start (and finish!) line of the Nashville 5K Bier Run. My realistic goal was 40 minutes since I knew I’d be stopping a lot to walk, but we actually finished in 38:25. Either way, I was proud of myself for getting out there and running in the first place.

The race toured through Germantown, one of my favorite up-and-coming Nashville districts, and kicked off the annual Germantown Oktoberfest Street Festival. Part of the race went THROUGH the Farmer’s Market — like straight down the middle and into the food court. I thought this part was pretty cruel as vendors were just starting to cook for IMG_2878lunch and you could smell delicious Chinese food as you passed (this was one of the parts I ran, for the record).

After it was over, I was greeted at the finish line by a souvenir mug, a free glass of beer and a bagel. Ha! Breakfast of German champions? I finished the bagel, but not the beer. It was only 9am, for the love!

Even with all the great freebies (I got a shirt, too… but instead of a hideous tuxedo shirt, it’s a hideous lederhosen shirt. ;)) and the accomplishment of finishing strong, my favorite part of this race was running it with two of my great friends.

sig

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Flynn permalink
    October 15, 2009 11:41 am

    Sweet post! Good run…good beer…good times.

  2. Fran permalink
    October 15, 2009 1:59 pm

    Great race report, loved reading it.

    I think it’s common in the US that you get gifts at races. In Holland we don’t have that, we usually get a medal or something for participating but never a goodie bag or something like that. Pity. πŸ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      October 15, 2009 2:46 pm

      That IS a pity! Do you still have to pay hefty race entry fees? 5K race fees usually fall between $20-$35 depending on when you register and if there’s a charity beneficiary. I think the event planners feel obligated to at least offer a shirt if we’re all paying that much to run 3 miles. …And I’m okay with that. πŸ™‚

  3. Fran permalink
    October 15, 2009 11:31 pm

    No our entry fees are a lot cheaper around 10 euro’s for a 10K race that’s less than 10 dollar. For a 5K you pay even less aroudn 5 dollars I guess so that could be the difference.

  4. October 18, 2009 10:08 am

    Looks like you had fun at the race!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

