Skip to content

CSA harvest: week two

October 19, 2009

I’m just now starting to notice the change in the Tennessee trees. Fall is my absolute favorite time of year, though I’m afraid that with the colder-than-normal weather planned for the coming months we’re going to skip right over it and have an extra long winter. Hopefully, I can snap a few great shots of the red and yellow leaves before they prematurely drop.

photoI picked up my second CSA share on Saturday and got another great bunch of veggies:

  • Bok Choy
  • Kale
  • Butternut Squash
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • 6 baby potatoes
  • 3 sweet potatoes

I plan to make last week’s butternut squash soup again and am pretty excited to tackle bok choy. Bugtussle Farms included this recipe:

Bugtussle Farm’s Bok Choy with Gingery Butter

  • One large choy, sliced crosswise into 1″ strips
  • 6 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce or tamari
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh cilantro
  • salt
  • freshly ground black pepper

Bring large pot of water to a boil. Add the choy and cook until tender but still crisp, 2-3 mins. Drain the choy in a colander and immediately run under cold water. Drain well. Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the soy sauce, ginger, garlic and choy. Cook, stirring constantly until the choy is well coated and heated through. Remove the skillet from heat, stir in the cilantro and season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately.

I might try subbing some fresh parsley for cilantro since I don’t particularly enjoy the taste. And I might try cutting back on a little of the butter to cut out some of the cals. Again, trial and error.

pinkstirfrySpeaking of error… I had my first failed experimental recipe! Knowing that I was going to pick up this week’s CSA on Saturday, I decided to try and use up the remaining veggies from last week on Friday night. I had (and still have) quite a few greens, a beet, a few carrots, a daikon radish and a turnip. I cooked some chicken and rice and sliced the root veggies into matchstick cuts and made a stir-fry.

Sounds simple… and I will say it was at least edible. We finished our plates, but I threw out a lot of the veggies in the process. I think it was the beet that did me in from the start. The radish, turnip and chicken were all white, so once I threw the beet in… it turned everything pink! I joked that I should’ve waited till Valentine’s Day to make this.

I continued cooking till the texture was where I wanted it… tender, but not too tender. I kept tasting it and trying to season it appropriately but I just kept tasting the same thing… earth. Because they were all root vegetables (and even tho they were very well-cleaned), it just had a very “root-y” taste. Afterward, I vowed not to make it again. Or if I did, I’d toss the beet. I’m going to have to look up some beet recipes for the future. Do any of you ever cook with beets? If so, what do you make with them?

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalie permalink
    October 21, 2009 4:54 pm

    I do not cook with beets – I am not as brave!

    • Amanda permalink*
      October 21, 2009 7:09 pm

      Hehe, I’m not really as brave as I’d like to be in the kitchen, but you only get better through trial and error, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

