Skip to content

Halloween: a few tricks, but mostly treats

November 1, 2009

80srockstarWhy my sweet tooth decided to kick in right around the time that candy sales are at their peak is beyond me. I tried to pacify my cravings for sugar with Skinny Cows, Slim-a-Bears, and Sensible Sweets… but sometimes a girl just needs some chocolate. Preferably Reeses. πŸ™‚

Aside from my scandalous love of chocolate and peanut butter, I had an excellent Halloween with some dear friends. I had registered for the Halloween 5K back in July and despite my lack of running workouts lately, I still showed up and gave it my all. They didn’t give out chips this race and I somehow missed the large timer at the finish line, so I have no idea how I did time-wise… but honestly, that doesn’t really bother me. The fact that I got out there, felt good the entire 3.1 miles, and finished strong was all that mattered to me for this race.

Unfortunately, my lack of vigorous workouts also kept me from meeting my goal of wearing my cheerleading uniform for Halloween. Eh, it fit… but not comfortably. Next year! πŸ˜‰ Instead, I rocked my backup costume of myself… twenty years ago. The funny thing (to me) was that this “costume” consisted of clothing and accessories I already had in my closet. The only thing I bought were the fishnet tights and gloves for $5 at Wal-Mart… ha!

nosferatuAfter the 5K, my friends and I went to the Vanderbilt University movie theatre on campus to see a showing of the German silent film “Nosferatu.” It’s the original vampire movie made in the 1920s. The best part of it, in my opinion, was the musicians that accompanied it. The Rats & People Motion Picture Orchestra consist of about 6 different people (around my age, I’d say) that play a plethora of instruments. They love silent films and write their own musical scores to accompany them… partly for their own enjoyment, but also to get younger, more contemporary audiences to love these historical films as much as they do. It was an extremely cool thing to witness.

I can hardly believe it’s already my favorite month: November!! So much fun is in store over the next few weeks! But first, the surgery. Man, I can’t wait to have that out of the way. Enough of that for now, tho. Time to curl up with a cup of hot tea and bid November 1st good day.

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 12:17 pm

    amanda,

    thanks so much for coming to see us, and so glad you liked the show. nashville is such a nice town.

    best wishes,

    r&p mpo

  2. Natalie permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:31 pm

    I wondered how peeps were going to run in costumes!

Leave a Reply

