Skip to content

Flashback: one year ago today

November 2, 2009

Exactly one year ago today, I was tying up the laces to my brand new tennis shoes, zipping up my brand new jogging suit, and stepping outside to takeΒ  in the beautiful fall colors and breathe in the fresh air of a brand new life.

A lot has happened in the past 365 days and I have loved every minute of it. I’ve loved the energy an active lifestyle has given me, the events my newfound confidence has let me enjoy, and the people I’ve met through it all. 2009 has been a great year. Quite possibly, the best year yet. πŸ™‚

In honor of my one-year anniversary, I went back to the very beginning – my profile page on SparkPeople and found my first blog entry:

November 2, 2008 —

Today was day one in my C25K training. The weather was gorgeous! (And a lot of the trees in my neighborhood have turned a bright red… I love fall!) I got a good night’s sleep last night so it was easy to get up and go this morning, although I didn’t anticipate any problems since I’ve been psyching myself up for this. Starting has never been my problem. It’s the follow-through I have trouble with.

I was listening to this interview the other day with this fitness expert who said (believe it or not) she has trouble motivating herself to exercise. So, she made a rule she strictly enforces… she has to get up and move for at least 10 minutes. Once she’s done that then if she still wants to quit, she does. But it’s that initial getting yourself into it that’s the hard part. Once you’re in it for 10 minutes, it’s a lot easier to stick it out for at least 10-20 more!

Here’s to tomorrow!

Yes, here’s to tomorrow… and the 364 days to follow!

With celebration,

sig

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hilary permalink
    November 2, 2009 11:09 am

    Congratulations on your Healthy Anniversary—you’ve accomplished so much in the past year! Incidentally, I love SparkPeople ;).

    • Amanda permalink*
      November 8, 2009 8:47 pm

      Isn’t SP great? I owe much to them for giving me a firm foundation to build on!

  2. November 2, 2009 6:40 pm

    How awesome is that!!!! πŸ™‚ You rock, girly!

  3. Fran permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:38 pm

    Wauw, that’s really nice to read again. I have to say that even though this year isn’t over 2009 is really a great year already for me since I finally changed to a healthy lifestyle and found all those great blogger girls, like you!

Trackbacks

  1. C25K Mulligan « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

