Skip to content

Memories in the making

November 28, 2009

This past Tuesday was my 29th birthday. I still can’t quite wrap my head around being 29, knowing that 30 is right around the corner, but beside that, it was one of the best birthdays I’ve had to-date. I’ve said it before, but 2009 has been a great year and I owe a lot of that to taking the first step in new running shoes last Fall. After that, everything kind of fell into place.

When I learned that I had to have surgery earlier this month, I was feeling all kinds of emotions: bummed, frustrated, upset. Running the gamut of emotions taught me that I’m also an emotional eater. Combining that with little to no activity caused the scale to go up a few numbers… which brings us to the present, in the middle of the holidays where my favorite seasonal high-cal food and drink run rampant. What’s a girl to do?! I thought about waiting until January to “get back on the wagon,” but that’s silly. This is my HEALTH we’re talking about… and that has really got to sink in. Why put off till tomorrow, what you can do today?

I have revamped my old SP page (for those of you who “friended” my other page, please do it again – I’ve consolidated the two!) to reflect new nutritional goals for a less aggressive approach (1lb/week loss). I plan to log cardio 3x/week and some form of strength training 2x/week, leaving weekends open for a little R&R.

There. Now that it’s out and in the open, you have my permission to hold me accountable!

Now… for the fun stuff: pictures!

On Tuesday, I met several of my friends in the 12South district at the neighborhood pizzeria. It was really great to have everyone together… including my parents!

Wednesday, my mom & I took my dad to The Hermitage – the home of President Andrew Jackson. It was a beautiful day for a tour through the plantation.

Thursday was Thanksgiving! I planned a huge meal and timed everything perfectly in the kitchen: sweet potato, apple, pear & spinach salad, sauteed turnips with breadcrumbs and parsley, turnip greens, mashed rutabaga & potato supreme, sausage stuffing and of course, the turkey!

That night, we decorated my place for Christmas and after breakfast the next morning, I saw my parents off.

Such a great week! I am thankful for my friends and family, my freedom, and all the motivation and support you all have given me!

What’re you thankful for?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    November 28, 2009 1:10 pm

    Congrats on your birthday Amanda!

    Great pictures looks like you’ve had a great time.

    I’ve gone back to Weight Watchers online, in Europe they launched a new program and I thought I give it a try. I need something extra to help me lose weight.

    Good luck on your goals, I’m sure you can do it!

    • Amanda permalink*
      November 30, 2009 6:31 am

      Thanks, Fran!

      Let me know how you like WW! I’ve never tried it myself, but I’ve a bunch of friends who love it.

  2. Flynn permalink
    November 30, 2009 12:58 pm

    Love the pics – looks like you had an awesome b-day and a fun time with your parents!

    Did you make that whole Thanksgiving feast? IMPRESSIVE. I feel very inferior right now.

    And thanks for the photo and shout-out on your SP page!!

Leave a Reply

