Skip to content

You are what you eat… hopefully!

December 3, 2009

I have friends who take them religiously and family who’ve made them a part of their everyday routine for as long as I can remember. Even with having them all around me, I’ve never jumped on the vitamin bandwagon. Until recently.

I was introduced to VitaminID.com about a month ago. I’m kind of a dork I love filling out forms and taking surveys so having a customized vitamin profile appealed to me that much more! The multiple choice survey asks questions like “how many servings of dark-colored vegetables, like spinach & broccoli, do you eat in one day?” as well as how many servings of fruit, cheese/dairy, and fish you eat, how much alcohol you drink, what special diets you follow, if any. The result? A customized supplement kit base pack in an adorable personalized box.

My base pack included:

  • Calcium 750 + Vitamin D3 – Helps build strong bones and prevent osteoporosis. D3 significantly improves calcium absorption.
  • Double Strength Fish Oil + Vitamin E – Contains Omega-3 fatty acids that support joint health, cognition and mood; also contains Vitamin E which is a powerful antioxidant that fights free radicals.
  • Magnesium – Helps maintain normal muscle and nerve function, keeps heart rhythm steady, supports a healthy immune system and is essential in the formation of bones and teeth; also helps regulate blood sugar levels and promotes normal blood pressure.
  • Multi-Vitamin – Contains 23 key vitamins and minerals which help repair muscle tissue, maintain & support the heart and other organs to support function and strengthen the body’s ability to protect against the effects of aging.
  • Super B Complex with C – Helps convert proteins and carbs into energy and are required for proper formation of red blood cells; also important for immune function and needed to help build and repair muscle tissue. Vitamin C is added to provide antioxidant protection for the water-based tissues of the body such as lungs, eyes, and muscles.
  • Vitamin C 500mg – A powerful antioxidant that helps protect from the effects of environmental stress; also plays a key role in collagen production and helps the body absorb iron.
  • Vitamin D 1000 IU – Important for strong bones and teeth; also plays major role in healthy cell development, immune system, heart health, muscle strength and colon/breast/prostate health.

Besides the textbook benefits, why did I all of a sudden start taking them? Curiosity, for one. But also because I know there are things lacking in my diet. I try to incorporate a lot of fruits and veggies, but I really lack in dairy. I don’t eat a lot of cheese and I hate drinking milk straight. With that realization, I know that there are other things I must be missing and supplements could help me become more, holistically speaking. And honestly, having just turned 29 and knowing the big 3-0 is around the bend, I’m concerned with my health more now than ever.

I began taking the four-week supply five short days ago. Obviously, this is the kind of thing that will have more of a long-term effect so being less than a week in, I have no real opinion to share as of yet. I will say that I feel plenty of energy during the day which, in turn, allows me to sleep like a baby at night. So far so good…

More to come!

Leave a Reply

