Skip to content

2010: Resolutions and running

January 2, 2010

I’m going to have to practice writing 2010, especially since 2009 was so incredible – I was kind of sad to see it go! But like all good things, it came to an end. I spent New Year’s Eve surrounded by friends with one goal in mind: to celebrate. And celebrate we did!

My friend Terri (who I met on SparkPeople last year) hosted us all and cooked up a table-full of delicious hors d’oeuvres. We spent the night eating, talking, laughing, reminiscing, and ringing in 2010 with a champagne toast. I wouldn’t have chosen to spend it any other way.

The next morning afternoon, we all met up once again at the Pfunky Griddle – a restaurant local to Nashville where you sit around tables with built-in griddles and cook your own pancakes, eggs and potatoes. I really have the best group of friends a girl could ask for.

I’ve done some thinking about my resolutions for 2010. I felt like I was copping out a little by carrying over the same ones from last year. I made great strides toward better health, but didn’t meet my weight goal thanks to some setbacks. I decided that I wouldn’t carry over the same resolutions so much as I would alter and add to them. I finally formed a simple list of what I’d like to see myself achieve in 2010 – for all parts of myself: mind, body & spirit.

Mind:

  • Read 12 books this year

Body:

  • Lose the remaining 40lbs
  • Run a 5K without stopping

Spirit:

  • Form new relationships
  • Set aside Amanda time

For those of you just starting out with resolutions and goal-setting, take a moment to check out this post on Faithful Provisions. It’s mainly geared toward budgets and financial saving, but I love the SMART acronym. Additionally, you can check out more of my thoughts on goals and resolutions, here.

C25K: W2D2 Update

My friend, Patten and I met up this morning at the park. He has been a great motivator in helping me get back in the swing of things. I believe today was a start of a weekly routine where we’ll get together and run. Even if we don’t stay at the same pace (which we don’t), it helps to know that someone will be there in the same vicinity, holding you accountable to yourΒ  goals.

Speaking of, today was ROUGH. I haven’t run in quite sometime and it’s true what they say… if you don’t use it, you’ll lose it. It was 16 degrees and snowing, but Patten and I are rockstars and got out in the middle of it, anyway. I was cursing myself the entire first running interval thinking “Uhh. This was a mistake.” It did get easier and, of course, in the runner’s afterglow, I was proud of myself and looking forward to the next run.

2010 is off to a great start… HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalie Fo Fatalie Fi Fi Mo Matalie permalink
    January 5, 2010 11:25 am

    I suggest reading the Bronze Horseman!!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      January 5, 2010 1:57 pm

      Ooh, thanks for the recommendation!! I’ll add it to my list. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

