Skip to content

C25K: W2D3 (also… shoes, snow and sparkrecipes!)

January 5, 2010

My friend, Patten, is a drill sergeant! At 7pm last night, he had me outside in pants, two shirts, gloves, and a hat running in 13 degree weather. To be fair, I needed it and it WAS warmer than our Saturday run. ๐Ÿ™‚ Even though he’s further along in the C25K program, he reverted back to finish W2D3 with me. We ran his appropriately named “Marriott Route” (which took us right by the Marriott down the street).

I don’t know if it was the change in scenery, running with company, or the fact that all the right songs were coming on my playlist, but I felt awesome. I ran each interval with no problem. I was able to focus on my breathing and ended the run with plenty of energy. If only all runs could be like that!

I still haven’t replaced the battery in my HRM and I’m debating about whether or not I want to do that. As much as I love knowing how many calories I burn per run, it was kind of nice just focusing on being active and enjoying how good I felt without being anal about calories and times.

The downside happened this morning when I woke up with a lot of pain in my left heel. I remember it happening before but I guess I’ve just ignored it. I realized I probably should trade in my running shoes for a new pair. After all, they’ve gotten a lot of use since last November. It’s about time.

With the help of Ebates and OnlineShoes.com, I purchased a new pair of Saucony ProGrid Omni 8s. The reviews were all very good and the heel support sold me. OnlineShoes.com offers the cheapest prices (with a 6% return from Ebates) and free 365-day returns and exchanges so I felt pretty good purchasing with them.

I have a pretty busy Wednesday lined up with meetings and work opportunities so W3D1 will have to wait till Thursday… unless we’re completely snowed in! If not Thursday… definitely Friday. Or Saturday. ๐Ÿ˜‰

On nutrition fronts, I’m trying to get back in the kitchen and cooking more things that don’t involve microwaves. Tonight I’m trying a recipe from SparkRecipes.com: Breaded Chicken Parmesan… reviews coming soon!

Leave a Reply

