Skip to content

Recipe: Breaded Chicken Parmesan

January 6, 2010

With the chaos of the holidays (and the end of my CSA Fall share), I haven’t found myself in many kitchens lately… well, in terms of actually creating a home-cooked meal. To be honest, I kind of missed it! And really, you can be nutritious in eating out, etc., but by cooking at home you are in complete control over what goes in your body. That’s my main driving force in honing my culinary skills.

Last night, I decided to have a night in with dinner (Breaded Chicken Parmesan, Roasted Yukon Gold Potatoes & Vegetables, and a glass of Woodbridge Cabernet) and a movie (Valkyrie). I included the recipe in yesterday’s post, but I always tend to put my own spin on things, so here’s Breaded Chicken Parm, Amanda-style:

  • 3 small boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup plain bread crumbs
  • 1.5 tbsp oregano
  • 2 tsp basil
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • a few turns from the pepper mill
  • 1.5 tsp garlic powder
  • 1.25 tbsp dried minced onions
  • 2 tsp of crushed red pepper
  • marinara or pasta sauce
  • shredded Parmesan cheese
  • olive oil

I mixed the herbs, pepper, onion, garlic powder and red pepper together with the bread crumbs in a small bowl. I took the three chicken breasts and cut them down the middle, making two mini fillets and drizzled a very small amount of olive oil on each half. I put each half of the chicken breast into the bowl, completely covering it with the bread crumb mixture, then laying it in a 9×11 greased pan. The three chicken breasts yielded 6 small fillets which could probably serve 3 people… or myself and one hungry, hungry roommate. πŸ˜‰

After all the fillets were breaded and in the pan, I popped them in the oven at 325 for 20 minutes. After 15 minutes, I flipped them and baked for another 20. When they were done, I flipped them again and placed 1 tsp of roasted garlic pasta sauce on each fillet (The general consensus was that there was too much sauce, so spread lightly… maybe even less than a tsp!), topping them with the parm (about 1/2 tbsp per fillet) and baking again for another 5 minutes. The cheese should be melted and the chicken should still be moist, but fully cooked.

It was something different, but quick & easy to make with a lot of ingredients I already had on hand. I really enjoyed it (roommate did, too – the highest compliment!) and will definitely be making it again.

Happy & healthy eats!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

