Skip to content

Tales from the kitchen …and C25K: W3D2

January 24, 2010

My house is starting to smell like home-cooking again! I’ve been in the kitchen twice this weekend, which based on the past couple of months is completely uncharacteristic of me. On Saturday, I made one of my favorite standbys: Mediterranean Chicken and Rosemary Orzo.

Cooking is like riding a bike. It just comes back to you. I hadn’t made this dish in what feels like forever, but I still remembered the recipe without having to look it up and it came together really quick.

This morning, I woke up craving french toast and french press coffee (a theme?). I silently whined to myself that IHOP french toast (two slices = 464 calories) was off-limits and I didn’t need to spend the money anyway. Then it hit me.

I went downstairs and grabbed two slices of Publix Light Wheat Bread (80 cals), I soaked them in 1/2 cup egg beaters (60 cals), and cooked them in a pan till slightly brown on both sides. When they were done, I topped them with 2 tsp of powdered sugar (~20 cals) and a sprinkle of cinnamon. I also had two cups of french press coffee (~6 cals) with 2 tbsp plain creamer (60 cals) and four slices of turkey bacon (100 cals) on the side. It was delicious and totally hit the spot! At 326 calories, I will definitely be doing this again.

C25K update: Yesterday morning, I met Patten at the park and we synced up our C25K apps for W3D2. Neither one of us were looking forward to the 3 minute runs since last week had been so rough on us, but we pushed ahead. It was much warmer out this weekend. I wore pants, a short-sleeved shirt and a light jacket which was a nice change of pace from my layered shirts + jacket + scarf + gloves combo. I slowed my pace down for this run and settled back into a medium jog. The run was challenging, but I felt much better than W3D1. Even still, I’m committing to running more than once this coming week.

It’s true what they say, you know. The older you get, the faster time flies. 2010 has started off with a bang and hasn’t slowed down one bit (a good problem – I’m not complaining!). I’ll be honest and admit that I’ve become a little complacent after my surgery in November. Once you get out of a routine or break good habits, it’s REALLY hard to get back into the swing of things. I have gained a small amount of weight back and it’s really annoying me… but something always seems to take top priority from tracking calories and working out (work, friends, etc.). Last night, I got really upset and told myself that I was throwing away all my success in the past year. Okay, so that’s a little exaggerated, but I’m glad I got pissed. According to the Phoenix Theory, that’s the first step in the right direction.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

