Skip to content

The dreaded overdue post

March 15, 2010

I’ve been dreading this post. Partly because it’s been so long since my last update that I knew I would have too much to cover, but mainly because I knew I’d have to own up and face the music.

I was having this discussion with two friends over the weekend, all three of us bloggers and all three of us dealing with blogging-block. I have several reasons for my hiatus, but the main one is hypocritical. How can I write about living well when my balance is crumbling? And then I answered myself: Stop worrying about it and pick up the pieces.

So without further ado, and without any kind of recap, here’s a mini-update on my goals and resolutions, looking forward:

Mind: 2 out of 12 books read so far. Being halfway through March, I’m a little behind schedule, but I did just order 6 books that I’m really looking forward to reading. Once those come in, I’m confident I can get back on track.

Body: As much as I loved running last year, 2010 has found me with an insane desire for variety. After weighing my options, I decided to buy a city-wide membership to the YMCA where they offer all sorts of different group classes — everything from yoga to zumba and water aerobics to scottish dancing. Just the thought of having all kinds of readily-available opportunities to shape up really excites me. And that really is half the battle when it comes to exercise.

Saturday was my first yoga class. In the past, I’ve practiced yoga to videos, but never in a room full of people. I was really intimidated when I walked in, but found myself able to keep up with the poses just fine. My friend Kim and I have set up a weekly schedule to sample a myriad of classes. Tonight, we’re trying kickboxing which both of us are excited about! Wednesday morning, we’ll do spinning and yoga again on Saturday.

Spirit: I have really enjoyed getting involved with the Nashville Junior Chamber and continue to strive toward forming new relationships within that organization.

This year, I am co-chairing the NJC’s largest fundraiser: The 11th Annual Ragin’ Cajun Crawfish Boil. It’s been a lot of work, but we’ve had a great time working on this project and meeting everyone involved. We’re all looking forward to the big day on April 17! If you’re in the Nashville area or feel like taking a road trip, check it out! Ticket proceeds benefit the Boys & Girl’s Clubs of Middle Tennessee.

I continue to feel blessed within my own circle of friends. My goal for this year is to strengthen those relationships… good friends are hard to find!

NEW GOAL: Stay accountable. I’m pledging to blog weekly from now on. Accountability is the most important thing in making a routine stick.

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 5:59 pm

    I LOVE spinning!!! Love it, love it, love it. I sweat bucket loads during spinning. Some instructors even incorporate yoga into their spinning class…but I’ve not tried that. I wish you well, Mandi. You’re still an inspiration! I wish I lived closer!!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      March 16, 2010 5:19 am

      I’m excited to try it! I’ll report back and let you know how it goes. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

