Skip to content

Kickboxing: the morning after

March 16, 2010

I feel like I conquered a few fears of mine yesterday by taking kickboxing. I’ve always gravitated toward trying new things, but in the past I’ve been known to chicken out at the last minute. Especially if they were challenging or intimidating. Kickboxing was both.

My friend Kim and I showed up to the class extra early so we could pick out gloves and get acquainted with our surroundings. After the step class finished up, we walked inside and staked out a place in the back.

The class started with drills in a large circle. To warm up, we jogged one way, then the other. Then we skipped sideways, followed by knee-high jogging (like running through tires), walking lunges and jumping jacks. Finally, it was time to start punching.

The first few rounds of punching were against the air, just to get used to form and placement. We perfected our jab, cross, hook and upper cut while maintaining a boxer’s shuffle. (I’d like to take a moment to thank Keli Roberts from 10-minute solutions Kickbox Bootcamp for giving me a foundation to make me feel like I knew what I was doing. :))

After learning several kicks, we brought out the huge punching bags and got to work. Kim and I were paired up with an older guy and the three of us went to town on this poor bag: triple jabbing, crosses, backhand punches, roundhouse kicks, the works.

Before we knew it, the class leader had stopped us and set up circuits. One of us would be on the mat doing push-ups and ab work, one would be on the bag doing punches & kicks and the other would be on the step bench doing cardio drills. We went through about 4 circuits, focusing on different things each time before she finally called us into final stretching. Whew!

Part of me wanted to take a picture to commemorate our accomplishment, but the other part of me looked in the mirror and agreed words would have to suffice.

My legs are a little stiff and my arms a bit sore today but nothing like I felt Sunday after Saturday’s yoga class. I may have felt like I was going to die during the class, but I felt great afterward so I’m planning to attend again next Monday… only this time, I’m bringing my own gloves. Using community gloves made my hands smell like feet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    March 16, 2010 1:09 pm

    Good for you for facing the intimidation and stepping up anyway, lady!! Way to kick life in the ass. πŸ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      March 16, 2010 2:49 pm

      Thanks! It feels incredibly satisfying. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

