Skip to content

The wheels on the bike go ’round and ’round

March 17, 2010

Dear Spinning,

I have heard so much about you! My friends love you and I was sure that I would come to know you as they do. But today. Oh, today. Maybe you and I just didn’t get off on the right foot. How ’bout we try again next week?

Love, Amanda

My alarm went off promptly at 6am, and I surprised myself at how fast I scrambled to find my workout clothes and be out the door in 10 minutes. At 6:40am, I met my friends, Paul & Kim who braved the early morning spinning class with me.

We refilled our water bottles and found three bikes up against the wall. I adjusted my seat and noticed how uncomfortable it felt to sit right away. I remember thinking “this is not going to feel any better after an hour.” And it didn’t. Finally after a little warming up, a tiny girl wearing green made her way to the front of the room and started the class. With it being St. Patrick’s Day, she played all Irish music, which I actually loved!

As the class really got going, the instructor called for a lot of “out of the saddle”, which basically means you’re biking standing up. With my legs already a bit sore from kickboxing, this was TOUGH. She had the class standing up for 10 minutes at a time, but I could only push myself to do maybe 5-10 seconds. Instead I made my own intervals throughout the class and didn’t give up, which made me feel a little proud. I don’t think I’ve ever sweated so much.

When we noticed it was 8am, we checked out early. Work was calling Kim and I had meetings to attend, so I’m not sure how it actually ended.

My favorite part? Trying to walk down the stairs after the class. HILARIOUS. All three of us had noodle legs and were holding on to the railings for dear life.

All in all, I’m still undecided. Maybe it’s because it was so physically challenging, maybe it bothers me that I was watching the clock and thinking about everything going wrong. Different workouts work for different people… so maybe I’m not a spinning girl. I’m definitely giving it another shot though. If I don’t love it, then I’ll find something else.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    March 17, 2010 2:31 pm

    Hai girl, good to see you back in blogland.

    I’m not a spinning girl, I’ve tried it once and all I did was watching the clock hoping it was over. Pity because it is a great workout for weight loss. But I rather do something I love because I know I won’t quit then.

Leave a Reply

