Skip to content

3N1 and Orphan Easter

April 2, 2010

I have pressed ‘snooze’ on my blog reminder for almost two weeks now. Do I even need to write about my continued attempt at balance?

I think it’s safe to say that Spring has finally sprung here in Nashville. We’ve had the most beautiful week of weather. Of course, with that comes high pollen counts and allergies that kept me out of commission for the most part of last week.

The only active thing I did last week (besides attending business meetings) was my yoga class on Saturday. And to describe stifling a runny nose in downward dog as challenging is, well, the understatement of the year. But I’ve grown to really enjoy and look forward to this class. If for no other reason than I get to quiet my mind for 90 minutes and focus on releasing the stresses of this world. Ah, peace. (The longer, leaner muscles are just an added bonus!)

This past week, I began a program at the Y called 3N1. The description off their website:

3N1 Fitness is a personalized wellness program designed to place you on the path to achieve your health and fitness goals. This program design runs its course over a three month period. The plan consists of three phases. In each monthly phase you will meet with a wellness coach for your consultation and workout plan. The program is a combination of strength and cardio training which increases in each phase to build your cardio and strength endurance.

On Wednesday, I met with a trainer and we discussed my fitness goals. I gave him the short version of Amanda Living Well (weighing 250+lbs, losing 70lbs, having surgery, gaining some back, and now being so sick of it all and just wanting to be healthy) and we laid out a program. He took me around to about 10 different machines (about half focusing on upper body and the other half on lower body), showed me how to use them and marked my settings (seat height, amount of weight to use, etc.) on a chart that I will be able to pick up every visit and take around with me. I’m excited about incorporating a real strength training program into my workouts since that’s always been hard for me to determine on my own.

Next Wednesday, I’ll be taking what’s called a “Microfit” test which will tell me how I fair fitness-wise and hopefully give me a better idea of what I need to work on. The test will show my cardio and flexibility capability as well as my body fat percentage, among other stats. I’m preparing myself more mentally for that than anything.

And finally, this is Easter weekend! Hard to believe!! We’re all getting together at our friends’ house for an “Orphan Easter” (since none of our families live here) pot luck and egg hunt. My assignment is Squash Casserole and I’m thinking I might just try this recipe off SparkRecipes.com.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 summer squash
  • 2 zucchini
  • 1 cup fat free ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup 2% Kraft shredded colby jack cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 large yellow onion
  • 2 tbsp light Daisy sour cream
  • cooking spray
  • Add: salt, pepper, & cumin for taste

DIRECTIONS:
Coat pan with cooking spray – add diced mushrooms, garlic cloves, and onion. Saute until tender. Cut both zucchini and squash into thin slices. Add to a pot w/ one tsp water and cook for approximately 5 minutes. Then remove from the stove and add onions to the pot. Mix two eggs with 2 tbsp sour cream. Coat baking dish w/ cooking spray. Evenly distribute squash mixture to bottom of pan. Add half of ricotta cheese, half of egg mixture, and half of shredded cheese. Layer the other half of the squash mixture on top and use the rest of the ricotta and egg mixture. Cover with foil and bake at 375 for 35 minutes. After 35 minutes, remove foil and add the rest of the shredded cheese. Cook for an additional 10 minutes. Lastly, turn oven to broil and let broil for 2-3 min so cheese topping become crusty. Let cool for 10-15 minutes and enjoy. Makes 9 servings; 90 calories and 4g of fat per serving.

I’ll report back when I get reviews!

EDIT: After setting the casserole out, eating, and then coming back to check on it, I saw there was only ONE serving left! I think it was a hit. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Flynn permalink
    April 3, 2010 10:23 pm

    I’m jealous of the Y Program! Sounds super-cool. Go you!

    And that recipe looks delish ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Terri permalink
    April 4, 2010 7:00 pm

    I’m going to sign up for the 3N1. Is there a trainer you recommend?

    • Amanda permalink*
      April 4, 2010 7:14 pm

      I just signed up and they automatically paired me with someone. Eric is the one I’m working with now, though I had my initial consultation with a girl named Ashley and I really liked her, too! Let me know what you think! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

