Skip to content

Spaghetti Squash Carbonara

April 19, 2016

A friend and I have been having this back and forth banter over spaghetti squash. For her, the texture is a total turn-off. Hey, I get it. There’s not much I don’t like to eat, but mushrooms? NOPE. In fact, I can’t remember a time ever liking mushrooms… although, I can’t pinpoint why.

Back to the spaghetti squash. My husband purchased two on a whim one day, to which I said “challenge accepted!” Only, after we’d cooked and eaten one, he brought home two more. After cooking and eating the fourth and final spaghetti squash last night, TRUST ME. You can do a whole lot with those guys. More than I initially thought.

In this squash run, we cooked “Spaghetti” and Meatballs, Sausage-Spinach Spaghetti Squash Boats, Buffalo Chicken Casserole… and this: Spaghetti Squash Carbonara. I have certainly saved the best recipe for last!

First, let me introduce you to The Endless Meal’s Dreamy Cauliflower Alfredo. Go ahead and make it. I’ll wait.

It’s legit, right?!

Here’s where I take it from there:

INGREDIENTS:

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cook your spaghetti squash! If you’re reading this at breakfast and planning for dinner, I have a foolproof cook method I swear by: put the entire spaghetti squash in a crockpot, turn it on low and walk away for 4 hours.
  2. Take a large pot or pan (I used the one I steamed the cauliflower in) and cook the bacon. We like ours super crispy which also works well for crumbling. While this is cooking, dice your veggies.
  3. Now that your bacon is cooked, set aside and toss your diced veggies in the bacon fat. While the veggies are sauteing, crumble your bacon and cut your spaghetti squash in half.
  4. Take a fork and de-seed the squash, then workΒ the threads out of the squash and into the pan with the veggies. Do this for both halves.
  5. Mix the squash with the diced veggies and pour in your cauliflower alfredo, stirring well. (I used half the batch and froze the rest.)
  6. Stir in half the crumbled bacon. UseΒ the otherΒ half as a garnish to sprinkle on top.

I split this meal into three servings: 1 for hubs, 1 for me, and 1 to enjoy again at lunch the next day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

