Skip to content

Kohlrabi Noodle Bolognese

May 19, 2016

Hubs went with me to pick up my CSA this week. As I was putting the produce in my bags, he crinkled his nose and said “what’s THAT?!” It was kohlrabi, friends. I only knew this because of previous CSAs and I remembered liking it so I was happy to see it included.

Unrelated: Can we discuss zucchini noodles? I cannot get into them. I mean, I’ll eat them… but I feel like I’m forcing myself to do so. What is that about? I like zucchini… so, maybe it’s a texture thing? If anyone has a zoodle recipe they die for, I want to hear it! I digress.

What I DOΒ love is the idea of making veggie noodles. I’ve never been a pasta fan (thank goodness), so these are a perfectly acceptable “substitute.” I picked up a Vegetti the other day and thought I would give the ol’ kohlrabi a spin in the spiralizer.Β Talk about making short work in the kitchen!

Ingredients:

  • 1 kohlrabi, trimmed and peeled
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 4 large mushrooms, diced
  • 1 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1lb grassfed ground beef
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 8 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 can of unsalted Rotel
  • 4 leaves of kale, washed, de-ribbed and chopped (for pre-prepped kale, use a couple of handfuls)
  • fresh basil leaves

Directions:

  1. Trim kohlrabi of leaves (if any) and peel. Cut in half and discard stem/root. Make noodles using spiralizer. Be sure to run a knife through your noodles, otherwise you will be in for some “Lady & the Tramp” moments!
  2. Heat a couple of teaspoons of oil (I use unrefined coconut oil) in a large pan. Saute your diced onion and while that is cooking, peel and dice your carrots. Stir together and while those are cooking, dice your mushrooms. Stir together with garlic and tomato paste, making sure the vegetables are well-covered with the tomato paste.
  3. Incorporate the ground beef and cook through till brown. Incorporate tomato sauce, your drained Rotel, and oregano.
  4. While this continues to cook over medium heat, prep your kale (and stir in till wilted).
  5. Let this simmer and oil another pan. When heated, pour in your noodles and saute with salt and pepper for 5-7 minutes till “al dente.”
  6. Plate noodles first, and spoon bolognese on top to serve.
  7. Garnish with fresh basil leaves and serve immediately!

Serves 4 (I initially made this for hubs and myself… but hubs went back for seconds and I packaged up half of mine for lunch tomorrow.)

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

